The Reasons Don’t Change is the debut from Henry Spencer to be issued on Whirlwind in late-January featuring his Blanchard-esque quintet Juncture, trumpeter Spencer plus Nick Costley-White (guitar), Matt Robinson (piano, keyboards), Andrew Robb (double bass) and David Ingamells (drums) and the strings of the Guastalla quartet. “My wish is that listeners might engage with the original emotional and lyrical context of the album, almost as if it were presented by a singer/songwriter, and then relate it to their own experience. That connection is what I find stimulating in improvised music,” Spencer says, quoted on his label's website.