Blue Note has unveiled the cover of Gregory Porter’s debut for the label as you can see above. Set your alarm clocks for 17 September in the States (the day before presumably in the UK). Here’s Gregory with Chip Crawford accompanying him on a live ‘in session’ take of ‘No Love Dying’ mooted to be on the record.

Pianist and music director Chip Crawford, drummer Emanuel Harrold, bassist Aaron James, alto saxophonist Yosuke Sato, and tenor saxophonist Tivon Pennicott are all on the record, plus, on a few cuts, trumpeter Curtis Taylor, and organist Glenn Patscha are added. The  record is produced by Brian Bacchus with arranger and associate producer Kamau Kenyatta also on board. Songs include, besides the title track: ‘Musical Genocide’; a take on the Ramsey Lewis-Dobie Gray crowd pleaser ‘The “In" Crowd’; Abbey Lincoln and Max Roach’s ‘Lonesome Lover’; and Sammy Cahn and Jule Styne’s ‘I Fall in Love Too Easily’. Other songs are: ‘Water Under Bridges’; ‘Movin’’; ‘Wolf Cry’; and ‘Brown Grass’. The ballad ‘Hey Laura’; ‘Wind Song’; and as mentioned earlier ‘No Love Dying’ also are thought to appear plus ‘When Love Was King,’ and the jazz-funk number, ‘Free’.
Related: Gregory Porter also guests on the new David Murray Infinity Quartet’s Be My Monster Love release, marlbank’s current album of the week